Cocle

The province of Cocle in the west of Panama City can be reached within 1-2 hours. During the last years its importance as a touristic destination has really increased. In former times agriculture was the main economic sector. the population was living on the cultivation of sugar cane and tomatoes. The largest town of Coclé is Penenomé which, however, only plays an essential role during the Carnival season. Buses travelling to other, more popular destinations such as Veraguas, Chiriqui and Bocas del Toro often stop here. Cocle is divided into 6 districts: Aguadulce, Anton, La Pintada, Natá, Olá and Penenome. As the tourism in this province increases year by year, many of the locals have already adjusted to the rising number of visitors. Particularly in the mountainous part of the province - Anton Valley (El Valle de Anton) - the tourism is booming. Due to its elevated location you can enjoy a fresh and pleasantly cool climate there. As Cocle is situated at the coast, you will also find very beautiful beaches as for example El Farallón. El Farallón is a popular beach at the Pacific Ocean which is within easy reach and furthermore most suitable for swimming and sunbathing.  One highlight, however, is the beach Playa Santa Clara which is distinguished by its azure water.

Rio Hato

Rio Hato

Rio Hato is located in the province of Cocle and is a small village of about 5000 inhabitants. It belongs to the district of Anton and is

Read more...

Penonome

Penonome

Penonomé, the capital town of the province Coclé in Panama, is located at the Pan American Highway which crosses this province.

Read more...

El Valle de Anton

Anton Valley

El Valle de Anton is one of the most picturesque and climatically pleasant villages of Panama. It is situated in the province of Coclé

Read more...

Playa Santa Clara

Santa Clara Beach

Santa Clara Beach is located in Santa Clara, in the province Coclé, close to Panama City. The ocean at Santa Clara Beach is rather calm –

Read more...

Cocle

Things to do in Cocle

Cocle is, very similar to Chiriqui, a province with very high contrast. Especially The climate and the landscape of the province vary greatly. In Cocle there is a touristically well developed highland region where the locals attach great importance to sustainable eco-tourism and wellness. In contrast to Cocles Coastline at the Pacific Ocean, that is characterized more by large hotel resorts where you can spend your all-inclusive vacations.

Trekking - Especially the highlands of Cocle are renowned for its excellent hiking trails. The landscape is simply breathtaking and teeming with life. Here it seems that nature has to be perfectly in tact and is reflected in its greatest splendor. The sheer number of orchids and butterflies in this region are already a proof to this immense biodiversity. El Valle de Anton offers a lot in terms of trekking. From there, a variety of hikes to waterfalls, rivers, caves and viewpoints are offered.

Bird Watching - The bird lovers in Cocle get their money's worth. The highly abundant nature is home to many species of birds. Here you can spot plenty of toucans, parrots, hummingbirds, motmots, eagles and singingbirds.

Rafting - Rafting is also a very popular activity in Cocle. The River Rio Grande offers the perfect conditions for kayaking or river rafting. It passes through tropical jungle and the best rafting season is between June and December.

Beach vacation - Cocle is, thanks to the beaches of Playa Blanca, El Farallon and Playa Santa Clara, the number one beach holiday destination in Panama. With its white sandy beaches and its turquoise waters Cocle is highly attractive for countless tourists from around the world. There are mainly large hotel resorts with all inclusive offers and packages.

Canopy - Also in Cocle, there is a canopy zip line, which allows visitors to look at the vast landscape of the region from several meters height. Particularly in El Valle de Anton or Anton Vally this activity is exercised.

Wellness and Spa - The highlands of Cocle are blessed due to its higher elevation with pleasant climate and moderate temperatures. Therefore the concept and offers of numerous hotels focus on health and wellness. Some hotels have their own spa and pamper guests with massages, sauna and thermal springs.

Yoga - Who, other than relaxing and unwinding, also wants to do something for physical fitness has, in many hotels the opportunity to practice yoga, surrounded by beautiful nature.

Highlights in Cocle

  •  Pacific Coast of Cocle - Playa Blanca, Playa Santa Clara and El Farallon are beautiful beaches with white sand and azure blue sea. There are the most exclusive hotel resorts throughout Panama.

  •  El Valle de Anton - This idyllic mountain village is located several hundred meters above sea level and attracts many hikers and ecotourists. Every Sunday, in addition there is a weekly market where you can buy a lot of typical local crafts.

  •  Highlands of Penonome - The Highlands of Penonome are very interesting because they have remained very natural and undeveloped. The inhabitants are predominantly indigineous origin and work in tourism or maintain themselves with agriculture. There are also many rivers, waterfalls and animals to admire

How to get to Cocle?

By plane - The airport in Rio Hato is currently under construction. The airport is expected to receive charter flights very soon, which will bring tourists to the hotel resorts on the beach.

By bus - There are several buses that run from Albrook Bus Terminal in Panama City directly to Penonome. You can also take buses, e.g. that go to Chitre, Las Tablas or David. They all will make a stop in Penonome.

By car - The journey to Cocle by car is just like travelling by bus.

Panama Travel Tip

For cultural enthusiasts Coclé is of course a must. Archaeological finds in the archaeological site of El Cano are evidence of a very ancient and sophisticated pre-Columbian culture. The well-preserved remnants of this ancient civilization are to marvel at the Museo de Penenomé.

Since 2007 the online travel guide #1 for Panama and Panama City.

 

Company

Services

Connect

  travelpanama.eu

  info[AT]travelpanama.eu

Cocle

Cocle ist bekannt für seine vielen weißen Sandstrände

Die Provinz Coclé liegt ca. 1-2 Stunden westlich von Panama City und hat in den letzten Jahren zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen. Früher wurde dort hauptsächlich Agrar- und Viehwirtschaft betrieben und man lebte vom Anbau von Zuckerrohr und Tomaten. Die größte Stadt von Coclé ist Penenomé, ist aber außer zu Karnevalszeiten recht unspektakulär. Hier werden oft Busstops gemacht auf der Durchreise zu anderen, beliebteren Zielen wie z.B. Veraguas, Chiriqui und Bocas del Toro. Gegliedert ist Coclé in 6 Bezirke: Aguadulce, Anton, La Pintada, Natá, Olá und Penenomé. Der Tourismus in dieser Provinz nimmt aber von Jahr zu Jahr zu und es haben sich schon viele auf die steigenden Besucherzahlen eingestellt. Vor allem im Hochland der Provinz, in El Valle de Anton, floriert der Tourismus sehr. Durch die hohe Lage ist das Klima frisch und angenehm kühl. Da Coclé an der Küste liegt gibt es hier auch sehr schöne Strände, wie zum Beispiel El Farallón. El Farallón ist ein beliebter Strand am Pazifik, der zum einen gut zu erreichen ist und sich super zum Baden und Sonne tanken eignet. Ein Highlight ist aber der Strand Playa Santa Clara, welcher mit seinem azurblauen Wasser heraussticht.

El Valle de Anton

El Valle de Anton

El Valle de Anton ist eines der schönsten und vom Klima her angenehmsten Dörfern Panamas. Es liegt in der Provinz Coclé im Krater

Weiterlesen...

Rio Hato

Rio Hato

Rio Hato liegt in der Provinz Cocle und ist ein kleines Dorf mit etwa 5000 Einwohnern. Es gehört zum Bezirk Anton und liegt ziemlich

Weiterlesen...

Penonome

Penonome

Die Stadt Penonomé ist die Hauptstadt der Provinz Coclé und liegt direkt an der Panamericana. Mehr als 21.700 Einwohner

Weiterlesen...

Playa Santa Clara

Playa Santa Clara

Der Playa Santa Clara befindet sich in Santa Clara, in der Provinz Cocle, unweit von Panama City entfernt. Das Meer am Playa Santa Clara

Weiterlesen...

Cocle

Aktivitäten in Cocle

Ähnlich wie Chiriqui ist Cocle eine sehr kontrastreiche Provinz. Das Klima und vor allem die Landschaft variieren in dieser Provinz sehr stark. In Cocle gibt es eine touristisch gut erschlossene Hochebene, wo man viel Wert auf nachhaltigen Ökotourismus und Wellness legt. Dazu im Gegensatz ist die Küste am Pazifischen Ozean eher geprägt von großen Hotelresorts, wo man seinen All-inclusive-Urlaub verbringen kann.

Trekking Touren - In Cocle ist besonders das Hochland sehr bekannt für seine exzellenten Wanderwege. Die Landschaft ist schlichtweg atemberaubend und strotzt nur so von Leben. Hier scheint die Natur noch vollkommen in Takt zu sein und zeigt sich in ihrer größten Pracht. Allein die Anzahl an Orchideen und Schmetterlingen in dieser Region zeugen schon von einer enormen Biodiversität. El Valle de Anton bietet sehr viel in Sachen Trekking Touren. Von dort wird eine Vielzahl an Wanderungen zu Wasserfällen, Flüssen, Höhlen oder Aussichtspunkten angeboten.

Vogelbeobachtungen - Auch die Vogelliebhaber kommen in Cocle auf ihre Kosten. Die überaus üppige Natur beheimatet sehr viele Vogelarten. Tukane, Papageien, Kolibris, Motmots, Adler und viele verschiedene Singvögel kann man dort beobachten.

Rafting - Seit schon vielen Jahren werden in Cocle Rafting Touren angeboten. Der Fluss Rio Grande bietet perfekt Bedingungen zum dem Kayaken oder Riverrafting. Er führt durch tropischen Urwald und eignet sich zum Raften am besten zwischen Juni und Dezember.

Strandurlaub - Cocle ist dank den Stränden Playa Blanca, El Farallon und Playa Santa Clara das Strandurlaubsziel Nummer eins in Panama. Mit ihren weißen Sandstränden und dem türkisfarbenen Meer locken sie zahllose Urlauber aus der ganzen Welt an. Hier gibt es vor allem große Hotelresorts mit All inklusive Angeboten.

Canopy - Auch in Cocle gibt es eine Canopy Zip line, die es den Besuchern erlaubt, die gewaltige Naturlandschaft der Region von mehreren Metern Höhe aus zu betrachten. Besonders in El Valle de Anton wird diese Aktivität ausgeübt.

Wellness und Spa - Das Hochland von Cocle ist auf Grund seiner höheren Lage klimatisch begünstigt und verfügt über gemäßigte Temperaturen. Das Konzept und das Angebot vieler Hotels richtet sich daher viel auf Wellness und Gesundheit. Einige Hotels besitzen ihren eigenen Spa und verwöhnen ihre Gäste mit Massagen, Sauna und heissen Thermalquellen.

Yoga - Wer ausser Relaxen und Entspannen auch was für die körperliche Fitness machen will, hat in vielen Hotels die Möglichkeit, umgeben von einer wundervollen Natur, Yoga zu praktizieren.

Highlights in Cocle

  •  Pazifikküste von Cocle - Playa Blanca, Playa Santa Clara und El Farallon sind wunderschöne Strände mit weißem Sand und azur-blauen Meer. Dort findet man die exklusivsten Hotelresorts von ganz Panama.

  •  El Valle de Anton - Dieses Idyllische Bergdörchen liegt auf mehreren hundert Meter Höhe und zieht viele Wanderer und Ökotouristen an. Jeden Sonntag findet zudem dort ein Wochenmarkt statt, wo man unter anderem auch viel regionales Kunsthandwerk kaufen kann.

  •  Hochebene von Penonome - Die Hochebene von Penonome ist sehr interessant, da sie sehr ursprünglich und unerschlossen ist. Die Bewohner sind vorwiegend Indianisch-stämmig und arbeiten im Tourismus oder in der Landwirtschaft. Hier gibt es sehr viele Flüsse, Wasserfälle und Tiere zu bestaunen.

Wie Komme ich nach Cocle?

Mit dem Flugzeug - Der Flughafen in Rio Hato befindet sich derzeit noch im Bau. Dort werden in Kürze Charterflüge erwartet, welche die Touristen zu den Hotelresorts am Strand bringen sollen.

Mit dem Bus - Vom Busterminal Albrook in Panama City fahren viele Busse direkt nach Penonome. Man kann auch Busse nehmen, die z.B. nach Chitre, Las Tablas oder David fahren, da sie in Penonome einen Zwischenstop machen.

Mit dem Mietwagen – Die Reise nach Cocle mit dem Mietwagen verhält sich genauso wie die Anreise mit dem Bus.

TravelPanama Tipp

Für kulturell Begeisterte ist Coclé natürlich ein Muss. Archäologische Funde in der Ausgrabungsstätte El Cano zeugen von einer sehr alten und hoch entwickelten präkolumbianischen Kultur. Die gut erhaltenen Überbleibsel dieser alten Zivilisation sind im Museo de Penenomé zu bestaunen.

Seit 2007 der Online-Reiseführer Nummer #1 für Panama und Panama City.

Unternehmen

Leistungen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

   travelpanama.eu

  info[AT]travelpanama.eu